About Us


The mission of Little Tokyo Service Center (LTSC) is to provide a comprehensive array of social welfare and community development services to assist low income individuals and other persons in need, contribute to community revitalization and cultural preservation in Little Tokyo and among the broader Japanese community in the Southland, and to provide such resources to neighboring Asian Pacific Islander and other low income communities.


Founded in 1979 and incorporated in 1980 by a group of Japanese Americans activists who wanted to form a multipurpose social service center, Little Tokyo Service Center aimed to provide linguistically and culturally sensitive social services to the Little Tokyo community and the broader Japanese American community in Southern California.

In the late 1980s and early 1990s, LTSC began advocating for the housing rights of low-income residents who were being evicted to make way for private development. Out of this struggle, the community development arm of LTSC was formed in 1994.

Today, our focus is to promote community control and self-determination in Little Tokyo and with our partners while continuing to provide social services to those in need.


Staff and Volunteers



2. Erich Nakano-400

Erich Nakano

Executive Director

3. Chris Aihara-400

Chris Aihara

Special Projects, Fund Development

9. Takao Suzuki-400

Takao Suzuki

Director of Community Economic Development

4. Bomee Kim Fain-400

Bomee Kim Fain

Director of Finance

5. Mike Murase-400

Mike Murase

Director of Service Programs

6. Amy Phillips-400

Amy Phillips

Director of Senior Services

7. Margaret Shimada-400

Margaret Endo Shimada

Director of Social Services

8. Grant Sunoo-400

Grant Sunoo

Director of Planning


Nikki Kealalio Sutton

Director of Development

Dick Kaku


David Mitani

Vice President

Tad Yoshimura


Kathy Masaoka


Alan Nishio

Chair, Board of Governors

Claire Kitayama

Executive Board Member

Trisha Murakawa

Executive Board Member

Miguel Nunez

Executive Board Member

Edwin Takahashi

Executive Board Member

Kelly Takasu

Executive Board Member

Akemi Arakaki

Dennis Arguelles

Jessica Chang

Eugene Eng

Kelsey Iino

Vy Nguyen

Kirk Sasaki

Jeff Schaffer

George Tanaka

Keith Terasaki

Kira Teshima

Dean Toji


Karen Umemoto


Mark Usui


David Uyehara


Jeff Yonemura


Alan Nishio


Sakaye Aratani

Jerry Fukui

Warren Furutani

Tomio Ito

Nancy Lu

Andy Nakano

Gilbert Nishimura

Chris Pak

Jan Perry

Myung-Soo Seok

Stephen Suzuki

Marie Tan

Bill Watanabe

Janet Yamamoto

Dean Matsubayashi, Executive Director 2012-2019


LTSC provides fiscal sponsorship to a group of affiliated programs that advance LTSC’s mission through their important work.

opens in a new windowAsian Pacific Islander Small Business Program

opens in a new windowAlliance for Community Transit-Los Angeles

Nikkei Helpline

Japanese Speaking Parents of Children with Challenges

Ryugakusei Hotline

opens in a new windowTuesday Night Project


Reach out to us today.